5.4 Galway - Mayo - Roscommon area

As outlined in paragraph 5.2 the Commission recommends a new arrangement of constituencies in the north and north-west of the country which addresses the population changes in Donegal and Cavan-Monaghan. The remaining western counties of Galway, Mayo and Roscommon were considered together.

The total population of Galway, Mayo and Roscommon, at 445,356, is equivalent to an allocation of 15 seats in a 158 member Dáil. In this area the reconfiguration of constituencies recommended by the Commission precludes direct comparison with the current seat allocation for the area.

In considering an arrangement of constituencies for the 15 seats the Commission had regard to the population changes in the area between 2006 and 2011. The population increased by 7.5%, which is slightly less than the national average of 8.2%. All constituencies in the area show population increases. The lowest was in Mayo (5.5%) compared to Galway West (7.3%) and Galway East (9.4%). The population in the county of Roscommon increased by 9.0%.

An arrangement of constituencies based exclusively on county boundaries is not feasible. In particular the population of Mayo can no longer form a 5-seat constituency and Roscommon does not have sufficient population to stand alone as a constituency. The Commission considered other options for the area including addressing Mayo and Roscommon together while making no change to the Galway constituencies or moving population from Galway West to Galway East. These options did not provide acceptable variances from the national average population per member in a 158 seat Dáil.

Having regard to the above considerations and in the light of its terms of reference the Commission recommends the following arrangement of constituencies for the area:

Mayo

Nine electoral divisions in the Ballinrobe area of County Mayo, with a population of 10,306, should be transferred to the Galway West constituency and the rest of the county of Mayo should form a 4-seat constituency.

Galway West

The Galway West constituency, with the addition of population from Mayo, has a total population of 150,874 and should remain a 5-seat constituency.

Roscommon-Galway

The combined population of the Galway East constituency and the county of Roscommon, at 174,150, is equivalent to 6 seats. The Commission recommends the transfer of 33 electoral divisions adjacent to county Roscommon, with a population of 20,521, from the Galway East constituency to join with the county of Roscommon to form a new 3-seat constituency called Roscommon–Galway. This arrangement allows for the county of Roscommon to be linked for constituency purposes to another county west of the river Shannon. The Commission notes that 9 of the transferring electoral divisions were on a previous occasion in a Roscommon constituency.

Galway East

The Commission recommends that the Galway East constituency, minus the population of 20,521 transferred to Roscommon-Galway, should become a 3-seat constituency.

Details of the transfers are given in Appendix 3. The following table sets out the relevant statistics for the recommended constituencies for the area.

Recommended Constituency	Number of TDs	2011 Population	Population per TD	Variance from National Average Population per TD (29,040)	
				Number	%
Galway East	3	89,564	29,855	+815	+2.81
Galway West	5	150,874	30,175	+1,135	+3.91
Mayo	4	120,332	30,083	+1,043	+3.59
Roscommon-Galway	3	84,586	28,195	-845	-2.91

The recommended Mayo, Galway West, Galway East and Roscommon-Galway constituencies are shown on Maps 7, 8, 9 and 10 on pages 33, 34, 35 and 36.







