Coimisiún Toghlach Seomra 1.65 Teach An Chustaim Baile Áithe Cliath 1

Tel: 01 888 2339, 01 888 2235 Fax: 01 888 2699, 01 888 2690 Constituency Commission Room 1.65 Custom House Dublin 1

E-mail: constituency.commission@environ.ie Website: www.constituency-commission.ie



CONSTITUENCY COMMISSION REPORT 2012

The Constituency Commission today (21 June 2012) presented its report on Dáil and European Parliament constituencies to the Chairman of Dáil Éireann.

The Commission is the fourth Commission established under the Electoral Act 1997 and is the first statutory Commission established with authority to commence work upon the publication of preliminary census results.

The members of the Commission were –Mr. Justice John D. Cooke (Chairman); Mr. Kieran Coughlan, Clerk of the Dáil; Ms Deirdre Lane, Clerk of the Seanad; Ms. Emily O'Reilly, the Ombudsman; and Ms. Geraldine Tallon, Secretary General of the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government. The Commission was set up on 27 July 2011 following the publication, by the Central Statistics Office, of 'Census of Population 2011 Preliminary Results' and was required to present its report not later than three months after the publication by the CSO of the final result of the 2011 Census.

This is the first occasion on which a statutory Commission has been required to carry out a review of constituencies on the basis of a reduced number of members of Dáil Éireann. The Electoral (Amendment) Act 2011 fixed the range for the total number of Dáil members at between 153 and 160, as compared with the previous range of 164 to 168.

In preparing its report, the Commission took account of the submissions made to it.

Dáil Constituencies

The Commission recommends that the number of members of Dáil Éireann should be 158. The number of constituencies should be 40 of which 11 will be 5-seat, 16 will be 4-seat and 13 will be 3-seat. The recommendations are summarised below.

- The county of Cork, including Cork city, should form the five constituencies of Cork East (4-seat, unchanged), Cork North-Central (4-seat), Cork North-West (3-seat), Cork South-Central (4-seat) and Cork South-West (3-seat, unchanged).
- The counties of Sligo and Leitrim with some population from south Donegal and from west Cavan should form a 4-seat constituency called Sligo-Leitrim. The rest of the county of Donegal should form a 5-seat constituency. The rest of the county of Cavan with the county of Monaghan should become a 4-seat constituency.
- Dublin city should largely form the five constituencies of Dublin Bay North (5-seat), Dublin North-West (3-seat), Dublin Central (3 seat), Dublin South-Central (4-seat) and Dublin Bay South (4-seat). Dublin outside the city should largely form the six constituencies of Dublin Fingal (5 seat) and Dublin West (4-seat); Dublin Mid-West (4-seat, unchanged) and Dublin South-West (5-seat); Dublin Rathdown (3-seat) and Dún Laoghaire (4-seat).

- Galway West with some population from south Mayo should remain a 5-seat constituency. The rest of the county of Mayo should form a 4 seat constituency. The county of Roscommon with population from east Galway should form a 3-seat constituency called Roscommon-Galway. The rest of the Galway East constituency should form a 3-seat constituency.
- The county of Kerry should form a 5-seat constituency. The county of Limerick should form a 4-seat Limerick City constituency and a 3-seat constituency to be called Limerick County.
- The county of Waterford, including Waterford city, should form a 4-seat constituency. The county of Offaly with some population from north west Tipperary should form a 3-seat constituency. The rest of the county of Tipperary should form a 5-seat constituency. The county of Laois with some population from Kildare should form a 3-seat constituency. The rest of the county of Kildare should form a 4-seat and a 3-seat constituency.
- Eight other constituencies should remain unchanged Carlow-Kilkenny (5-seat), Clare (4-seat), Longford-Westmeath (4-seat), Louth (5-seat), Meath East (3-seat), Meath West (3-seat), Wexford (5-seat), Wicklow (5-seat).

European Parliament Constituencies

The Commission recommends no change to the existing arrangement of constituencies for the election of 12 representatives from Ireland to the European Parliament.

The report may be purchased from the Government Publications Sale Office. It is also available on the Commission's website - www.constituency-commission.ie

Constituency Commission Custom House Dublin 1

21 June 2012