REVIEW OF EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT CONSTITUENCIES

A statutory committee was established on 25th July 2013 under section 5(1A) of the Electoral Act 1997 (inserted by the Electoral, Local Government and Planning and Development Act 2013) to make a report to the Ceann Comhairle of the Dáil in relation to the constituencies for the election of members of the European Parliament.

The committee is required to have regard to the following in making its report:

- The number of members of the European Parliament to be elected in the State as may be specified for the time being pursuant to the Treaties governing the European Communities – that number is now 11 following the decision of the European Council on 28 June 2013;
- there shall be reasonable equality of representation as between constituencies;
- each constituency shall return 3, 4 or 5 members;
- the breaching of county boundaries shall be avoided as far as practicable

 this is deemed not to include a reference to the boundary of a city or
 any boundary between any two of the counties of Dún-Laoghaire
 Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin;
- each constituency shall be composed of contiguous areas;
- there shall be regard to geographic considerations including significant physical features and the extent of and the density of population in each constituency; and
- subject to the above provisions the committee shall endeavour to maintain continuity in relation to the arrangement of constituencies.

The committee will also have regard in making its report to the results of the 2011 population Census.

The committee invites written submissions in relation to matters which should be considered in reporting on European Parliament constituencies. Submissions should be addressed to The Secretary, European Parliament constituencies committee, Room 1.65, Custom House, Dublin 1, or by email to europarlconstituencies@environ.ie.

The period for submissions closes at 5:00pm on Friday 30th August 2013.

Submissions received by the committee will be published on <u>www.constituency-commission.ie</u>, and may be inspected by prior arrangement with the committee in the Custom House, Dublin 1 (telephone 01-8882769) during the hours of 10.00am to 4.30pm (Monday to Friday), until the conclusion of the work of the committee. The committee is required to present a report to the Ceann Comhairle of the Dáil within two months of its establishment.

Constituencies for the European Parliament are specified in the Third Schedule to the European Parliament Elections Act 1997 which can be viewed on the Irish Statute Book website. The most recent review of European Parliament constituencies was reported in the Constituency Commission Report 2012 which can be viewed at <u>www.constituency-commission.ie</u>.

