Harp Image Constituency Commission

UPDATE July 2018 - Review of European Parliament Constituencies

The Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government signed an Order on 24 July 2018 establishing a European Parliament Constituencies Committee under section 5(1A) of the Electoral Act, 1997 to review the European Parliament constituencies.

Constituency Commission Report 2017

The Constituency Commission has presented its report on Dáil and European Parliament constituencies to the Chairman of Dáil Éireann.

The members of the Commission were - Mr. Justice Robert Haughton, of the High Court, who was nominated by the Chief Justice to be chairperson of the Commission. The other members were: Mr. Peter Finnegan, Clerk of the Dáil; Mr. Peter Tyndall, the Ombudsman; Mr. John McCarthy, Secretary General of the Department of Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government; and Mr. Martin Groves, Clerk of the Seanad who replaced Ms. Deirdre Lane on the Commission in October 2016.

The Commission was set up on 14 July 2016 following the publication, by the Central Statistics Office, of 'Census of Population 2016 Preliminary Results' and was required to present its report not later than three months after the publication by the CSO of the final result of the 2016 Census. Final results for Census 2016 were published on 6 April 2017.

The report may be purchased from the Government Publications Office. It is also available on this website - www.constituency-commission.ie.

Recommendations on Dáil Constituencies

The Commission recommends that the number of members of Dáil Éireann should be 160 and that there should be 39 constituencies of which 13 will be 5 seat, 17 will be 4 seat and 9 will be 3 seat. The recommendations are summarised below.

Recommendations on European Constituencies.

The Commission recommends no change to the three existing constituencies for the election of the 11 members of the European Parliament; (Dublin 3 seat), Midlands-North-West (4 seat) and South (4 seat).

Constituency Commission

Custom House

Dublin 1

27 June 2017