Report on Dáil and European Parliament Constituencies 2012

If you would like to download the 2012 report in full, please click here
The file size of this pdf is 34.4mb and opens in a new window

Chapter 1 - Introduction and summary of recommendations

Chapter 2 - Establishment and procedure of Commission

Chapter 3 - Dáil Éireann: Constitutional provisions and equality of representation

Chapter 4 - Dáil constituencies where no change is recommended

Chapter 5 -Dáil constituencies where change is recommended - see breakdown below

5.1 Cork area

5.2 Donegal – Sligo – Leitrim – Cavan – Monaghan area

5.3 Dublin area

5.4 Galway – Mayo – Roscommon area

5.5 Kerry – Limerick area

5.6 Waterford – Tipperary – Laois – Offaly - Kildare area

Chapter 6 - European Parliament constituencies


Appendix 1- Specification of recommended Dáil constituencies

Appendix 2 - Statistics relating to recommended Dáil constituencies

Appendix 3 - Electoral divisions recommended for transfer between Dáil constituencies

Appendix 4 - Press Notice issued by the Commission/Preas Fhógra an Choimisiúin

Appendix 5 - Commission Statement/Ráiteas an Choimisiúin

Appendix 6 - Organisations and persons who made submissions

Appendix 7 - Constituency size and total Dáil membership since 1923

Appendix 8 - 2011 Population of each County and City

Large-Scale Maps
open in new window

A. Recommended Dáil constituencies – Ireland
B. Recommended Dáil constituencies – Dublin City
C. Recommended Dáil constituencies – Dublin

Please note that all the above are in pdf file format.
If you would like to download previous reports, click here

The Constituency Commission is established under Part II of the Electoral Act 1997 to review Dáil
and European Parliament Constituencies.